Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Headphones Review

sennheiser-mm-200-bluetooth-headphones
Sennheiser

Having brought you news of one of Sennheiser's very latest products, the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones last month, Hi-Fi-Insight have been fortunate to be one of the very first people in the UK to get their hands on a pair for review. We were already very excited about the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones having read the technical specs and reckoned Sennheiser were onto a winner with this niche product.

The first thing that strikes you about the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones is how small and light the bluetooth transmitter is, however the thing that everyone will want to know is how good do these headphones actually sound with a stereo source. After charging them up via USB for about three hours (which should give them about 11 hours of battery life), the headset was ready for use. Pairing them up to my Hewlett Packard laptop was a doddle, the laptop found the MM200 headphones first time and the quick set up card included with the Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Headphones made the process foolproof. All that was left to do was to set the headphones as the audio output for the laptop in Vista's control panel and start up media player.

The first album played was a remastered 192kbs MP3 rip ACDC's classic album "Back in Black". Immediately the punchy bass and timing of the phones was extremely impressive and I had soon forgotten I was listening to a bluetooth headset. The £55 MX400 earphones which the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones use are extremely good and have loads of bass whilst still being able to produce natural clear vocals and good treble, something that is not lost or sacrificed using the new bluetooth V2.0 EDR A2DP technology. These headphones don't just work, they work very well and sound terrific. If anyone is interested there are several retailers offering the Sennheiser MX400 at under £15 if you are prepared to shop around on the internet and don't require the wireless technology.

Back to the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones, the next source I tried was my HTC Diamond phone, once again set up was very straightforward and the HTC automatically configured the hands free once I had set up the bluetooth share. The Orange answer phone came across extremely clearly and it was nice to listen to the phone without any background noise due to the noise cancelling design of the ear pieces.

Now we come to the best feature of the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones, the dual source option. In this mode, the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones can be partnered as a stereo headset to one device (in this case my laptop) and a hands-free device (my HTC Diamond). When the phone rings, the music cuts off and a phone call can be answered; when the phone call ends the music resumes - brilliant. I have to confess it took a couple of attempts to sync both devices at the same time, but it worked and this I would imagine will be the main selling point of the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones.

To sum up, I found it very hard to find fault with the Sennheiser MM200 bluetooth headphones as they work flawlessly and sound fantastic. I have never been a fan of the in-ear bluetooth headsets, so combining music playback and call answering into one tiny smart package seems an excellent solution.

Highly recommended.

This entry was posted on Tuesday October 28th, 2008 at 8:00 PM and is filed under MP3 Players, Accessories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response.

13 Responses to Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Headphones Review

Tony Says:
December 18th, 2008 at 3:20 AM

Your review was excellent,very detailed and understanding.
I wish you would have mentioned,how the mic quality(of the bluetooth) was responding to the other caller,because mainly headsets have problemss been heard on the other end.but considering the top quality of mikes that sennheiser always produces,we'll hope they haven't missed out anything to the smallest detail.

Tony

Cruxis Says:
March 25th, 2009 at 1:01 AM

Well written review, just a few minor things you should be aware of:

The source of the mp3 you used, you said it was 192khz, I'd rather believe you meant 192kbs since the mp3 format doesn't support hertz frequencies higher than 44.1/48 khz. Also, you used a cd rip, tis also isn't a really reliable source for accurate soundchecks, the reason is that at first the source was a cd-quality, read by cd/dvd reader (which could easily make just a few mistakes in reading, or scratched cds etc), then re-encoded to mp3 and downsamples to 192 which will surely have undergo quality loss.. better use a full 320kbs cbr studio mp3, like buying them on online mp3 shops, for testing the true capabilities of earphones, it'll make a huge difference.

Still, my compliments for writing such a detailed review. I just have one question, does it work properly with bluetooth supported mediaplayers (like the new Sony Walkman series do)?

Best regards

Miguel el zorro Says:
March 25th, 2009 at 2:54 PM

Hi.

I'm also curious about the sound of the voice in the other end of the phone conversation.
Also I would like to know the measurement of the bluetooth unit. I've tried many sites but there's only the weight.


Miguel el Zorro

Eddie w Says:
June 27th, 2009 at 6:01 PM

I'm also curious to the mic question, as well as compatibility with the iPhone 3GS. I currently have (had actually) the Tritton Bluetooth AX which worked fine with the iPhone, but the other day, it shorted out from sweating (I believe) while I was working out.

Says:
July 31st, 2009 at 10:09 AM

The MM200 are one of the best sounding stereo bluetooth hedsets I have heard, and the reception is amazing too. Unfortunately, the MM200's are not designed to be taken to the gym, as these will short on you if you sweat on them.

Mike horseman Says:
October 14th, 2009 at 6:14 PM

I have just bought the cool sennheiser mm200 headphones, but sadly the forward and back track buttons don't work on Iphone 3Gs everything else does however - please advise

Tim king Says:
October 31st, 2009 at 3:49 AM

The minimum volume seems to be set at the 1/2 way mark on the phones volume slider (maybe that was the volume when I made connectin?). Is there any way to adjust this?

I can pair the headset with my imac but it will not connect, any place I can get more info? I made a request at Sennheiser earlier this evening. Great sound, very comfortable.

Goldenadder Says:
December 7th, 2009 at 5:14 AM

The iphone and Itouch 2G/3G does not support track forward and back yet. Apple has been slacking off, and did not add this feature in the firmware for unknown reasons.

Anlumo Says:
October 19th, 2010 at 11:57 PM

The latest iOS update brought support for the forward/backwards buttons on the device, works fine now.
The audio quality is great, but I have a lot of issues with reception on my iPhone 4. It seems to have trouble keeping the connection up when the MM200 device is under the jacket and the phone is in the trousers' pocket, especially when I'm sweating. When the iPhone is lying on the table, the connection seems to reach about 10m, which is kinda strange.
I just connected it to my iMac, also works great (just make sure to use the Bluetooth Headphones audio device, not the Bluetooth Headset one, otherwise it's mono). The buttons even control iTunes!

Dan Says:
March 3rd, 2011 at 4:10 PM

After comparing the article with the actual unit which has now been out in use for quite some time, and after owning it for a couple of months I can say that it is quite accurate. The reason why I bought this bluetooth headset is due to the unique ability to pair with 2 bluetooth transmitters at once. Unfortunately this is not as straightforward as the instructions say, at least not for my iPod Touch 2G and Nokia N95. Nonetheless I can still manage to pair them together through another procedure. Other than that all functions seemed to work with my iPod Touch 2G even on the original OS version and the sound quality is like nothing I experienced before...there again my latest earphones where a pair of high-end Sony earphones with Bass enhancement shape which I got in 1996 and after a lot of use still work extremely good!
Anyhow the reason I'm writing here apart from hoping to help others with this review is that recently I broke the clothing clip on this Sennheiser model and since I use this mainly as a hands-free device for my phone while driving I really need this clip. Unfortunately after writing to Sennheiser (and waiting 3 days for a reply) I found out this is not sold separately. So I was wondering maybe any of the readers over here might be able to spare clothing clip....maybe because they don't use it or because the bluetooth device doesn't work anymore...Thank you so much.

Ken kobi Says:
April 27th, 2011 at 11:34 PM

Thanks for the great reviews. I have been looking for great sounding stereo headphones to where at the office. I need them to stream music and when I receive a call, cut off the music and allow me to take that call. Clearly this will work well from a cell phone however need to be able to take calls from my land line as well. I can stream music from my black berry via Pandora or MP3, etc. so I don't need to pair with my PC. Is there a way to convert the land line hand-set to transmit Bluetooth? Perhaps an aftermarket device that connects to the headset jack on my phone? I'm not so concerned about the headset controls working to accept or hang up on land line call as I am usually sitting by my desk phone. Thanks very much for any assistance I truly appreciate it.


Martymart Says:
May 20th, 2011 at 4:11 PM

I have tested many earbuds and these are the absolute very best sound quality, easy to use wireless two way ear buds ever. They are the most comfortable and will work inside helmets so as to give hands free for motorcycle drivers. One can do start staop music and phone calls. After using these I do not want wired in head sets for my cell fone or iphone. they are very vight and do not get cought up on anything. the bass response is as good as bose WIRED in ear buds, but they can block out screeching subway noises. They will allow normal speach to get through and background sound but to a reasonable level. I also use them to block loud noises out from within a bar. Sad is the day they stopped making the worlds best earbuds and noise blockers. Bring them back. Bring them back. Bring them back. Bring them back. Bring them back. Bring them back.

Richard Says:
September 15th, 2011 at 6:16 PM

Anyone tell me if it is a case of buy headphones and simply plug them into my iPhone and go...or do I have to pair them..? Alternative Sennheiser inear phones that are NOT bluetooth but with a punchy bass & high end result??? Many thanks for an excerllent review

Leave a Reply





captcha

Subscribe to RSS feed