Twentysomething – Jamie Cullum (US Import Dual Disc)


Jamie Cullum’s second album, and his first for Verve was his best selling to date and firmly established him as a Jazz star in the making. The album’s range of material is very broad and will appeal to not only jazz aficionados but also those people with more mainstream tastes. The album was recorded entirely in analogue by Stewart Levine (Simply Red’s Picture Book and A New Flame) and benefits from virtually no overdubs as virtually all the tracks were recorded live. Given the lack of post production on the album, it is an ideal choice to really test the sonic abilities of 24/96 PCM recording.

The American Dual Disc of Twentysomething contains a DVD audio version of the album that not only offers a 24/96 5.1 soundtrack but also a separate two channel 24/96 soundtrack. If I am being honest, I have no interest in these surround mixes but the two channel high definition audio played back through a high quality DAC offer a far superior listening experience than CD.

The track listing on the American Import differs slightly from the UK version, with one track being sacrificed for a re-recording of Radiohead’s High and Dry. There is a very wide range of songs on Twentysomething and Cullum/Levine manage to almost pull off every single one, although some are stroner than others.
To sum up, a very impressive album that needs to be listened to in 24/96 to get the full benefit but overall very good.

**** (4.5 stars)

Format: Dual Disc (CD/DVD)
Audio: CD side 2 channel 16 bit PCM @44.1 khz / DVD Audio 2 channel 24 bit PCM @96 khz/ 5.1 24bit PCM @96 khz
Country: USA
Label/Date: Verve/2004

Track Listing:

  1. These are the Days

  2. Twentysomething

  3. Wind Cries Mary

  4. All at Sea

  5. Lover, You Should've Come Over

  6. Singin' in the Rain

  7. I Get a Kick Out of You

  8. Blame it on My Youth

  9. High and Dry

  10. It's About Time

  11. But For Now

  12. I Could've Danced All Night

  13. Next Year, Baby

  14. What a Difference a Day Makes

  15. Frontin'

This entry was posted on Thursday July 8th, 2010 at 8:00 PM and is filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Comments are now closed.

Subscribe to RSS feed